AU Flags-off a single e-passport to grant access to Africans in 54 member countries

The African Union (AU) is set to launch a common passport that will grant Visa –free access to 54 member countries. The union intends to distribute them to African citizens in the year 2018. CNN reports that:“The passports  represents a key plank of the Agenda 2063 action plan, which emphasizes the need for greater continental integration, drawing on the popular vision of Pan-African unity. AFRICAN UNION PASSPORTSFreedom of movement has been a longstanding priority among member states, as enshrined in previous agreements such as the 1991 Abuja Treaty. Common passports have already been adopted for several regions, such as the Economic Community of West African States(ECOWAS)." »


About blackconnoisseur (389 Articles)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: